Charas-Project

Game Creation => Requests => Tutorials => Topic started by: elementalhero76 on March 21, 2007, 12:54:10 AM

Title: Kirby powers
Post by: elementalhero76 on March 21, 2007, 12:54:10 AM
Ok here's how I want to do it...

Kirby has item parasol. So he uses it in battle and he becomes parasol kirby. Now here's the gist about it, I can't change classes in battle so I change characters so I have two characters Kirby and P. Kirby now I got that straight, I now have this problem...

How do you make their levels equal since this is only for the battle?
Title:
Post by: Daetyrnis on March 21, 2007, 12:56:55 AM
You can change classes in battle, just call a common event.
Title:
Post by: Ben on March 21, 2007, 04:42:54 AM
And as for levels, you are gonna want to have some sort of event that stores the current level into variable, and then an event of sorts to change parasol Kirby to have the same level.

But uh....that probably didnt make alot of sense. Id elboarte... but Im rushed right now. Perhaps later, if you still dont get it
Title:
Post by: elementalhero76 on March 21, 2007, 08:29:15 PM
Ok I started with the connon event to change the class that I can do but as for varibles, big humongo questionmarks!
Title:
Post by: Grandy on March 21, 2007, 08:39:13 PM
 I... remember seing a tutorial somewhere about this long ago... though it was in portuguese. I'll have a look for you, if it's not too complicated I'll try and translate.
Title:
Post by: DragonBlaze on March 21, 2007, 09:19:18 PM
For the  variables. Go to variable options, select a variable you want to store your value into (in this case, the value will be the heros level). click on the hero bubble/box, then select the hero you want from the pulldown box, then in the next pulldown box, select level.

This will set the variable to the heros level.

Now take that variable and subtract 1 from it (you'll see why later)

Next, you use a change character level command, select the new character, and set the level to 1. (subrtact 99 levels)

FInally, make another change character level command, this time, add levels, and choose the variables stored in the variable from before. Since the level will be at one, and you're adding one less than the current heros level, it'll be equal to the current heros level.
Title:
Post by: Moosetroop11 on March 21, 2007, 09:49:59 PM
As far as I remember, my problem was that the battlechar doesn't change in the middle of battle when the class changes. Or have you got a version that fixed that?
Title:
Post by: Grandy on March 21, 2007, 10:20:51 PM
Quote
Originally posted by DragonBlaze
For the  variables. Go to variable options, select a variable you want to store your value into (in this case, the value will be the heros level). click on the hero bubble/box, then select the hero you want from the pulldown box, then in the next pulldown box, select level.

This will set the variable to the heros level.

Now take that variable and subtract 1 from it (you'll see why later)

Next, you use a change character level command, select the new character, and set the level to 1. (subrtact 99 levels)

FInally, make another change character level command, this time, add levels, and choose the variables stored in the variable from before. Since the level will be at one, and you're adding one less than the current heros level, it'll be equal to the current heros level.


 How about the EXP? Will it be the same?
Title:
Post by: DragonBlaze on March 22, 2007, 01:37:34 PM
Quote
Originally posted by Grandy
Quote
Originally posted by DragonBlaze
For the  variables. Go to variable options, select a variable you want to store your value into (in this case, the value will be the heros level). click on the hero bubble/box, then select the hero you want from the pulldown box, then in the next pulldown box, select level.

This will set the variable to the heros level.

Now take that variable and subtract 1 from it (you'll see why later)

Next, you use a change character level command, select the new character, and set the level to 1. (subrtact 99 levels)

FInally, make another change character level command, this time, add levels, and choose the variables stored in the variable from before. Since the level will be at one, and you're adding one less than the current heros level, it'll be equal to the current heros level.


 How about the EXP? Will it be the same?[/B]


No, but unless you plan to gain experaince mid battle, it shouldn't matter. I was under the assumption that the character would change back to normal at the end of the battle. IF NOT, just do the same thing, excpet with level, use exp.