Home
Help
Search
Calendar
Login
Register
Please
login
or
register
.
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
News:
Click here to join us on IRC (#charas on irc.freenode.net)!
Charas-Project
»
Game Creation
»
Requests
»
RPG Maker Programming
»
Issue with a battle event
« previous
next »
Print
Pages: [
1
]
Author
Topic: Issue with a battle event (Read 4523 times)
Linkforce
The Original Master of the Mosey
Leader
Posts: 2,330
i love rpgs
Issue with a battle event
«
on:
November 24, 2009, 04:19:58 AM »
Alright, so I have a common event that triggers in a certain battle. Basically, you hit a few keys, and if you get it right, a switch activates and you learn a skill. The problem I have is that I cant stop this event from happening every time you fight that same enemy. Like I have "End Event Processing" but it doesn't work...any suggestions?
If you need a screen or something to better understand it or if you want me to to explain more, just let me know!
Thank you!!
Logged
Prpl_Mage
Administrator
Sage
Posts: 7,644
The Administrator Mage
Re: Issue with a battle event
«
Reply #1 on:
November 24, 2009, 07:19:33 AM »
Easiest way would probably be to activate a switch.
The end event processing only works THAT time. If you exit and enters a map/battle - It will no longer be valid.
Logged
Cool RPGM Project!
Sprite till you die
Oh my god, this was ...10 years ago...
Linkforce
The Original Master of the Mosey
Leader
Posts: 2,330
i love rpgs
Re: Issue with a battle event
«
Reply #2 on:
November 25, 2009, 08:09:08 AM »
I have a switch that activates once you complete the arrow combination's. The switch activates another battle event that reads End Event Processing which is supposed to stop that event from happening again in battle. But it doesn't work :/
Logged
Prpl_Mage
Administrator
Sage
Posts: 7,644
The Administrator Mage
Re: Issue with a battle event
«
Reply #3 on:
November 25, 2009, 04:55:26 PM »
Hmm. in the begining of the first event - have a conditional branch check if the switch is OFF.
the yes would be the entire event.
the NO would be nothing. Meaning that nothing happens.
So kinda like this.
Battle groups:
battle event.
trigger : whatever it was.
<> conditional branch: switch[battle learn1] is OFF
.<>yes
input arrows and crap.
if success:
...<>YES
learn skill
activate switch [battle learn 1]
...<>NO
play sound: failure 2
activate switch [battle learn 1]
.<>No
<>end
«
Last Edit: November 25, 2009, 04:59:33 PM by Prpl_Mage
»
Logged
Cool RPGM Project!
Sprite till you die
Oh my god, this was ...10 years ago...
Linkforce
The Original Master of the Mosey
Leader
Posts: 2,330
i love rpgs
Re: Issue with a battle event
«
Reply #4 on:
November 26, 2009, 07:41:26 PM »
Ok here's a pic of the common event...I figured this would be easier for you lol.
Logged
Prpl_Mage
Administrator
Sage
Posts: 7,644
The Administrator Mage
Re: Issue with a battle event
«
Reply #5 on:
November 27, 2009, 03:20:55 PM »
But that's a common event isn't it? Wouldn't it be better to use a battle event?
Logged
Cool RPGM Project!
Sprite till you die
Oh my god, this was ...10 years ago...
Linkforce
The Original Master of the Mosey
Leader
Posts: 2,330
i love rpgs
Re: Issue with a battle event
«
Reply #6 on:
November 27, 2009, 06:33:05 PM »
You're right...lol ok here's the battle event, crudely put together:
Logged
Emerates
A. Hermit Esquire
Exemplar
Posts: 1,027
Re: Issue with a battle event
«
Reply #7 on:
November 29, 2009, 03:34:22 AM »
It might work if you make a fork with the switch activated, and make the ELSE do all the other stuff. That way, if the switch is ON, it won't do anything, and you won't be able to relearn skills over and over.
Logged
Linkforce
The Original Master of the Mosey
Leader
Posts: 2,330
i love rpgs
Re: Issue with a battle event
«
Reply #8 on:
November 29, 2009, 06:57:05 AM »
.......I'm afraid im confused by your solution lol
Logged
Rowan
...
Zealot
Posts: 601
Charas arbitrary gay black guy.
Re: Issue with a battle event
«
Reply #9 on:
November 29, 2009, 06:53:31 PM »
So wait; you want the Ledron Combo event to NOT happen entirely once he learns the skill?
Also you say you used a switch to activate another event that has end event processing, so Ledron won't do his skill again. I'm going to guess that "Ledron Skill 1" is the switch that you use.
Unfortunately this won't work. Even if you use a "Call Event" command or a switch/variable to activate another event with End Event Process, End Event Process command will only shut down the event page it was placed in, not the script entirely.
What you will have to do is add a fork condition at the beginning of the combo event to check whether Ledron has the Aqua Skill or not. If he doesn't then the script will do everything normally. You don't even need to make a switch for this really.
«
Last Edit: November 29, 2009, 06:57:55 PM by Rowan
»
Logged
Linkforce
The Original Master of the Mosey
Leader
Posts: 2,330
i love rpgs
Re: Issue with a battle event
«
Reply #10 on:
December 12, 2009, 06:56:25 AM »
Hey sorry it took me so long to answer...but this still doesn't work. :/ The event still comes up in battle even after he's learned the skill.
(
Logged
Linkforce
The Original Master of the Mosey
Leader
Posts: 2,330
i love rpgs
Re: Issue with a battle event
«
Reply #11 on:
December 15, 2009, 06:55:16 AM »
?
Logged
Desimodontidae
Registered July 13, 2004, 10:41:19 AM (+1692 post counts)
Agent
Posts: 892
ghost host
Re: Issue with a battle event
«
Reply #12 on:
December 15, 2009, 10:10:13 AM »
Maybe you could just make the first "certain battle" a separate enemy and make that battle unavoidable (seemingly random or whatever) and just make all the other battles with that enemy from a copied version, minus the events. If that make sense with the gameplay.
Logged
My MGS3 main character sprites
Linkforce
The Original Master of the Mosey
Leader
Posts: 2,330
i love rpgs
Re: Issue with a battle event
«
Reply #13 on:
December 16, 2009, 06:45:31 PM »
That would work, but the battle isn't specific to one time. There are several times where you can encounter that enemy. And also if the player doesn't get the combo correct the first time, there has to be more opportunities to fight that enemy.
Logged
Prpl_Mage
Administrator
Sage
Posts: 7,644
The Administrator Mage
Re: Issue with a battle event
«
Reply #14 on:
December 17, 2009, 02:35:45 PM »
What Rowan suggested should work. Since nothing should play when you got the skill and the entire event is in the else condition. Do you have any other events linked to this part of the game?
Logged
Cool RPGM Project!
Sprite till you die
Oh my god, this was ...10 years ago...
Print
Pages: [
1
]
« previous
next »
Charas-Project
»
Game Creation
»
Requests
»
RPG Maker Programming
»
Issue with a battle event