Home
Help
Search
Calendar
Login
Register
Please
login
or
register
.
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
News:
Click here to join us on IRC (#charas on irc.freenode.net)!
Charas-Project
»
Game Creation
»
Requests
»
RPG Maker Programming
»
Easy Question about Key Inputs
« previous
next »
Print
Pages: [
1
]
Author
Topic: Easy Question about Key Inputs (Read 3664 times)
RockJohnAxe
I Pwn alot of stuff.
Zealot
Posts: 606
I Pwn alot of stuff.
Easy Question about Key Inputs
«
on:
October 11, 2010, 10:24:23 PM »
I for the life of me cant figure this out.
Basically when the player presses a Button (really doesnt matter which) it opens a Show Choice Dialog, which basically will allow the player to view several Variables (the Variables have todo with Non-Combat related stuff).
I know how to link Variables in the Texts, but i cant figure how to get this Menu to open when the Player presses the Button.
Can someone give me a quick little run down of how to achieve this?
Thanks alot for any Assistance.
Logged
Prpl_Mage
Administrator
Sage
Posts: 7,644
The Administrator Mage
Re: Easy Question about Key Inputs
«
Reply #1 on:
October 11, 2010, 10:33:51 PM »
I'm not sure I understood this right but...
If you have a parallel process and it's a key input process it will continue to check if the selected button is pressed. For example the cancel button.
If the cancel button is pressed - the variable in the key input process will get the value 6.
So next you need a conditional branch that checks whatever or not the variable is indeed 6.
If it is 6. Call the event with the Show Choices thingy.
You can use whatever button you want, but then the value will change and you must change the conditional branch accordingly.
Logged
Cool RPGM Project!
Sprite till you die
Oh my god, this was ...10 years ago...
RockJohnAxe
I Pwn alot of stuff.
Zealot
Posts: 606
I Pwn alot of stuff.
Re: Easy Question about Key Inputs
«
Reply #2 on:
October 12, 2010, 01:00:17 AM »
so do i create a Parallel process event on each map that sets the variable based off the button pressed.
How do i run make the conditional branch constantly to check if the button has been pressed or not? Ive tried creating auto-start events but they just stop the game completely and remove player control.
I think my issue is i dont understand Parallel Processes properly.
Ill look around for some tutorials, but if you could clarify more i would really appreciate it.
I want the player at anytime (except for combat) to be able to press, lets say button "1" (which i think its #10 on the input list), and when they press that button a show choice opens with a couple options.
Thanks again for the help.
Logged
Prpl_Mage
Administrator
Sage
Posts: 7,644
The Administrator Mage
Re: Easy Question about Key Inputs
«
Reply #3 on:
October 12, 2010, 01:06:59 AM »
Parallel processes runs parallel with other events and actions.
In other words, they go side by side.
An auto start event will go first. And it won't stop demanding all that attention until someone turns it off.
Avoid auto-start events at pretty much every cost.
You want to create a custom event, make it a parallel process. At the top, add a CON Branch with the statement "VAR### is equal to 10." then your show choices / call event thing and then a Var operation that sets it equal to 0 again.
In the else tab you add the key input process and make it only react to the number buttons.
That's it.
Since its a parallel event the event will check if the var is 10(the button has been pressed), if not it will go over to the key input instead and it will loop over and over.
If you press the button the event will get stuck on the next loop with the conditional branch.
Now the variable is decreased to 0 again to avoid getting stuck with the menu. And the show choices thing appear / you use call event to call the event with the show choices thing.
Logged
Cool RPGM Project!
Sprite till you die
Oh my god, this was ...10 years ago...
RockJohnAxe
I Pwn alot of stuff.
Zealot
Posts: 606
I Pwn alot of stuff.
Re: Easy Question about Key Inputs
«
Reply #4 on:
October 12, 2010, 01:10:45 AM »
Thanks alot Purple.
Setting the variable back to 0 to avoid being stuck is something i never thought of also.
Ill give this a whirl when i get home from work... in another 9 hours ><.
Thanks again.
Logged
RockJohnAxe
I Pwn alot of stuff.
Zealot
Posts: 606
I Pwn alot of stuff.
Re: Easy Question about Key Inputs
«
Reply #5 on:
October 12, 2010, 12:33:22 PM »
Works Great Purple! Thanks alot.
I also didnt set the Variable back to 0 and it still works perfectly. but i guess i dont really use any loops.
Everytime i press 1 the Options pop up perfectly.
Logged
Prpl_Mage
Administrator
Sage
Posts: 7,644
The Administrator Mage
Re: Easy Question about Key Inputs
«
Reply #6 on:
October 12, 2010, 07:36:07 PM »
Really? Interesting, the key input process must run afterwards and not sense a button so it's reseted to 0 naturally then.
Glad to know its' working though.
Logged
Cool RPGM Project!
Sprite till you die
Oh my god, this was ...10 years ago...
RockJohnAxe
I Pwn alot of stuff.
Zealot
Posts: 606
I Pwn alot of stuff.
Re: Easy Question about Key Inputs
«
Reply #7 on:
October 13, 2010, 01:36:32 PM »
Just incase you were interested i thoroughly tested it and the key input resets back to 0 naturally. You were right.
Logged
Print
Pages: [
1
]
« previous
next »
Charas-Project
»
Game Creation
»
Requests
»
RPG Maker Programming
»
Easy Question about Key Inputs